Gurkeerat, Aravind new faces; Jadeja dropped for SA series

first_imgThe selectors have rewarded uncapped Gurkeerat Singh for his consistent performance at the India A level by including him in the ODI squad for the upcoming series against South Africa starting October 2.While another uncapped player from Karnataka Sreenath Aravind has been handed a maiden call-up in the T20 squad. The ODI squad has been named for the first three matches out of five. MS Dhoni will be leading with selectors being fine with dual-captaincy policy as India play three T20Is, five ODIs followed by four Tests in a home series against South Africa. While allrounder Ravindra Jadeja has been ignored from both the squads and so also pacer Ishant Sharma.Jadeja and Dhawal Kulkarni were the two players to lose their spots from the team that played in Bangladesh and were replaced by allrounder Gurkeerat and Amit Mishra respectively.Mohammad Shami too missed out because he is yet to recover from a knee injury that he sustained during the World Cup. Harbhajan Singh, for his good show during the Zimbabwe series has managed to keep his place in the T20 squad. Moreover, Mishra for his impressive performance in the Sri Lanka Tests has been rewarded with berths in both the squads.The selectors also decided to persist with Axar and have included in the both the short formats, while Shikhar Dhawan recuperating from a hand injury has also been included in both the squads.Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been included in the ODI squad only as Mohit Sharma gets picked up in both the sides.advertisementODI Squad: MS Dhoni (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Gurkeerat Singh, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Umesh YadavT20 Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (Capt), Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Mohit Sharma, Amit Mishra, Sreenath Aravind.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *